Education (Covid19)

In the event of self-isolation or closure we are dedicated to ensuring that all students still have access to an excellent education. 

 

Easter Holiday Tasks - click images to access interactive version

Year 7 to 9;

Students are recommended to follow their timetable where possible and for most subjects they should be self quizzing using their knowledge organisers. We have also attached blank self quizzing sheets that students can print or sketch. Click below:

Self Quizzing Blank Sheets

Self Quizzing Guide

 

We also recommend that students revisit their previous Knowledge Organisers booklets to practise learning previous knowledge. 

All of the Knowledge Organisers are available below.  Click on the links to view.

Cycle 3

Year 7 Cycle 3

Year 8 Cycle 3

Year 9 Cycle 3

Year 10 Cycle 3

Year 11 Cycle 3

 

Cycle 2

Year 7 Cycle 2

Year 8 Cycle 2

Year 9 Cycle 2

Year 10 Cycle 2

Year 11 Cycle 2

 

Cycle 1

Year 7 Cycle 1

Year 8 Cycle 1

Year 9 Cycle 1

Year 10 Cycle 1

Year 11 Cycle 1

 

Here is a video which explains how to self quiz.

https://www.sdcc.net/curriculum-and-homework/self-quizzing

 

Maths - students should log into Hegarty Maths and watch the videos followed by completing the task. Our teachers will set these additional tasks for students and these should be treated like a lesson.

https://hegartymaths.com/

 

Science - Use Tassomai (as above)

https://www.tassomai.com/

 

Reading

Reading every day is an important activity for every student.  All students should keep reading whether they are in school or at home.
Our friends at Greenshaw Learning Trust have created the following excellent daily activities for students in Years 7, 8, 9 and 10.

Year 7 playlist (The House with Chicken Legs, Sophie Anderson)
https://tinyurl.com/uja3kdv


Year 8 playlist (The Fastest Boy in the World, Elizabeth Laird)
https://tinyurl.com/t3ofxg7


Year 9 playlist (The Middle of Nowhere, Geraldine McCaughrean)
https://tinyurl.com/v32ggpy


Year 10 playlist (Orange Boy, Patrice Lawrence)
https://tinyurl.com/sago96y

 

College e-reader

To keep up with your daily reading target you can use our College e-reader subscription from smart phones and devices at home. There are over 1000 titles to choose from, each with information about the genre and reading age.
 
You will need to download the app to read the titles but you can manage your book loans on a PC. Search for 'wheelers' in the app store. It will appear as e-reader wheelers. Once downloaded you will be asked to search for a library; type in 'stoke damerel'. 
 
You will need to 'sign in' to start reading. Use your College email address and password for this.
 
Visit: 


Year 10

Study at home guide year 10

 

Year 11 and 13 

All students have been added to google classroom for every subject and also the year 11 revision google classroom.

Teachers will (where possible) be adding work to the google classroom for the students. Students should follow their timetable as best as they can and spend time completing the work that has been set. 

In addition, they should also use the revision resources that have been given to them and continue using online resources such as Hegarty Maths and Tassomai, information regarding useful websites is below. 
 

Year 12

Join the google classroom if your subject has one. Follow your timetable as best as you can. Ensure you continue to read around the subject. Your teachers will contact you using your school email or the google classroom as appropriate to set relevant work.

 

How to access Google Classroom

  1. Go to google.co.uk and sign in with their school email address and password.  
  2. Click on the 9 dots in the upper right hand corner of the screen.  This is a shortcut to all of the Google Apps.  Among them will be Google Classroom.  Click on this.
  3.  In Google Classroom the student will see any Google Classrooms they have been invited to join.  Click join.
  4. Students can also click the '+' sign and then input the class code to join that particular class.  Most of the codes for the College Google Classrooms can be found on the school website here:  https://www.sdcc.net/information/COVID19-information/student-work

 

Google Classroom Joining Codes

Most classes at Stoke Damerel Community College have a Google Classroom to enable students to work in College and at home. For those students who have not yet joined their Google Classroom the class joining codes are below.

 

Year 9

Year 10

Year 11

Year 12

Year 13

 

All Students

For any additional work we have collated some useful sites below

Subject

Website Link

Notes

Maths

Hegarty

(online tutorials and self marking quizzes)


 

Various

Seneca

Particularly good for revising English, Geography and History

Science

Tassomai

(Science recall quizzing)

 

English Lit

Sporcle

(Mini quizzes on your texts and poems)

Type one of these into the top search bar and choose a quiz: An Inspector Calls / MacBeth / A Christmas Carol / exposure / ozymandias

French / Spanish

Memrise

Duolingo

 

Maths

Onmaths

(self marking practice papers)

Choose higher (Set 1 and 2) or Foundation 

Various

GCSE Bitesize

All subjects

     
     
     
     
     
     
     
     

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 


 

We hope that despite this unfortunate set of circumstances you can work with us to ensure your child isn’t affected in a negative manner.  

For general enquiries regarding your child’s education please contact the appropriate Learning Manager;

Learning Manager Post 16

Mr M Tinkler

mtinkler@sdcc.net

Learning Manager Year 11

Mr S Gill

sgill@sdcc.net

Learning Manager Year 10

Ms K Lewis

klewis@sdcc.net

Learning Manager Year 9

Mr J Ward

jward@sdcc.net

Learning Manager Year 8

Mrs S Bevin

sbevin@sdcc.net

Learning Manager Year 7

Ms L MacManus

lmacmanus@sdcc.net

Vice Principal

Mr C Follett

cfollett@sdcc.net

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

For subject specific enquiries please email the appropriate subject leader;

English

D Henderson

dhenderson@sdcc.net

Mathematics

M Hussey

mhussey@sdcc.net

Science

D Fleetwood

dfleetwood@sdcc.net

French

E Tremellat

etremellat@sdcc.net

Geography

S Campion

scampion@sdcc.net

History

S Sayer

ssayer@sdcc.net

Modern Britain

K Burn

kburn@sdcc.net

Computing/IT

S Greenhough

sgreenhough@sdcc.net

Art

I Stephens

istephens@sdcc.net

Dance

N Adams

nadams@sdcc.net

Drama

A Clift

aclift@sdcc.net

Media

D Towers

dtowers@sdcc.net

Music

P Simpson

psimpson@sdcc.net

Photography

D Towers

dtowers@sdcc.net

Business

A Beacham

abeacham@sdcc.net

Catering

L Aldridge

laldridge@sdcc.net

Health & Social Care/Childcare

J Gratton

jgratton@sdcc.net

Sport

B Thomas

bthomas@sdcc.net

Psychology

K Gears

kgears@sdcc.net

Sociology

S Sayer

ssayer@sdcc.net

Vice Principal

C Follett

cfollett@sdcc.net